Temporal Visions of Resilience and Hope

Damien Lamar
3 min readFeb 5, 2023

--

Writing a book dedicated to exploring resilience, identity, and history and celebrating my ancestors’ struggles, courage, and triumph.

My first novel, “Time Traveler’s Digest: An Anthology” is officially complete.

Grief has been a driving force behind my creativity over the years, especially since losing my sister, Alana Teree Bell, to life-threatening cancer in August 2022. Although I miss her terribly, the solace that comes from knowing she is no longer suffering brings me comfort. Her passing also gave me the resolve to finish my first novel, “Time Traveler’s Digest: An Anthology.” This book is my magnum opus and is a companion to the 10th anniversary remaster of my music album, “The New of ProfessorClock,” released in April 2022.

Introducing @timetravelersdigest,” a podcast and novella series that takes you on a journey through time with first-hand accounts from the very first time-traveling archivists. With stunning art, photographs, and designs created using cutting-edge generative AI, this is a one-of-a-kind experience that will transport you to different times and places. And as a Patreon subscriber, you’ll have access to exclusive author transcriptions for a deeper understanding of the stories and themes.

Although I had some sense of what I wanted the soundtrack to represent, it wasn’t until a few years ago that I understood the storyline and truly grasped its idea. It wasn’t until I truly dedicated myself to writing that I fully understood my music. I had to do my own inner healing and move away from being an unfulfilled musician and vocalist, performing for little to no money. I had to return to my first love: writing.

I’ve loved time travel since I was a child, watching shows like Quantum Leap (which celebrated its recent reboot), Star Trek, and Star Wars. When I saw Black Panther, I realized it was time for me to tell stories of resilience and hope that is relatable and inspiring to people like me, growing up as a Black person in the South in a very racist country.

As a child, I fostered a passionate curiosity and affinity for Egyptology and ancient African culture, driven by a deep-seated interest in my forebears’ heroes and the hidden truth behind the sinister burning of the Great Library of Alexandria. Therefore, when I began writing, I drew inspiration from these tenebrous incidents, crafting a beguiling story of what really happened to the books within the walls of the library and who or what was responsible for the devastating fire. It took an extraordinary two millennia for the library’s reconstruction to be completed in 1995. Ultimately, my intention was to craft a narrative inviting the reader to observe how history repeats itself repeatedly through hate, arrogance, discrimination, and violence.

This book is my way of honoring and inspiring my ancestors by representing their struggles, resilience, and courage in a new light. I also hope this book will provide insight and perspective to readers from any background, giving them a different perspective on how to approach life’s obstacles and find strength in their own experiences.

I hope readers can take away from this book a sense of hope and inspiration, showing them that anything is achievable when they stay open to possibilities.

It doesn’t matter if I get picked up by a publishing company. This book will always be my way of representing the resilience of my people and the power of our imaginations. I look forward to seeing the final product and sharing these inspiring stories with the world.

Time Traveler’s Digest: An Anthology, the novel will be available in the Summer of 2023. Check out the audio-drama podcast and hear story excerpts from the forthcoming novel. The new illustrated quarterly magazine, Temporal Visions will also feature vivid photography, character profiles from the novel, and insightful essays from leading experts in the field. With over a hundred colorful pages, it will be a striking addition to any bookshelf or coffee table.

Pre-Orders for the novel and the upcoming illustrated coffee-table magazine will be available in mid-March 2023.

--

--

Damien Lamar

Multipotentialite. 2/5 Pure Generator with Sacral Authority. Creative Director. ASCAP Writer/Publisher. Web & Music Producer. http://www.damienlamar.com