Practicing Mindfulness in the Face of Social Injustice

Damien Lamar
8 min readJun 16, 2022

June 20th, 2021, will go down in history as President Joe Biden signed a declaration establishing June 19th as Juneteenth National Independence Day in the United States.

Photo by Toni Smailagić

The more this country’s political and social climate sinks into the mire of bigotry, cruelty, and fascism, the more we constantly scroll these news feeds, social media, and television seeking answers. Even though I can’t cover my eyes from seeing what’s happening in the world, I have to remind myself that I’m not obligated to comment on everything that goes down. This isn’t because I don’t care (I care deeply), but because there is more than one way to fight for justice in this world.

I want to discuss how many of us will be setting aside time and space to commemorate and contemplate the significance of Juneteenth. In an advocacy and inspirational tone this week, I want to take a different approach to this episode. I have always believed that The Mindful Restart is not just a podcast but also a movement. Even though we may not all be in the same room at the same time to have a conversation, our voices are still being heard, and they are still being lifted up in order to amplify each other.

--

--

Damien Lamar

Multipotentialite. 2/5 Pure Generator with Sacral Authority. Creative Director. ASCAP Writer/Publisher. Web & Music Producer. http://www.damienlamar.com